The history of the charming Cotswold village of Bibury
History of Bibury
Bibury must be one of the most visited of the Cotswold villages. On a warm summers day Bibury is filled with tourists appreciating the historic buildings like Arlington Row and the picturesque backdrop of the River Coln which flows gently alongside the main street.
Bibury was described by William Morris as "the most beautiful village in England" and the number of tourists visiting Bibury surely confirms this.
Bibury is actually two small villages separated by the river Coln. On the one side Bibury and on the other is Arlington.
The history of Bibury dates back to at least the Iron Age & there are even remains of a hill fort above the village.
The local church, St Mary's, contains some signs of Saxon origins and the north Chancel wall of the Church is home to a stained glass window which was designed in 1927 by Karl Parsons
Close by is the Bibury Court Hotel, built in 1633.
water meadow across the river Coln is known as Rack Island. This small
area of land is not accessible, although the Swan
Hotel owns the fishing rights. The island was once used to dry the
cloth from the weavers cottages at Arlington Row during the 17th century.
|For more information about Bibury, including Bibury accommodation, please visit the Bibury web site, and for Cotswolds information visit the Cotswolds web site|